ICTA seeks nominations for 4 Professional Educator Awards

W.P. SANDFORD (President's) AWARD:  The Sandford Presidential Award recognizes long, exceptional and distinguished service to the Illinois Communication and Theater Association over an extended period of years.  The recipient may also have made significant contributions to the field of speech and theater, but must have been in the profession for at least fifteen years and be a current and active member of the Illinois Communication and Theater Association.  The Sandford Presidential Award shall include a life membership in ICTA including convention fees.

EDITH HARROD AWARD:  The Harrod Award recognizes outstanding contributions in the field of speech communication and/or theater by an Illinois speech educator.  The qualifications include outstanding achievement in the profession as well as distinguished service to ICTA.  The recipient shall have been an active member of the communication professional in Illinois for at least five years, and must be a current member of the Illinois Communication and Theater Association.

THE JERRY MATHIS OUTSTANDING YOUNG EDUCATOR AWARD:  The Mathis Award recognizes an outstanding young communication and/or theater educator in Illinois.  The recipient must be a current member of the Illinois Communication and Theater Association, may not have taught more than five years in any school, and should currently be teaching in an Illinois school.  Nominees will be asked to submit lesson plans and/or other materials supporting their achievements as an Illinois educator.

THE CONNIE LINK OUTSTANDING MENTOR AWARD:  The Connie Link Outstanding Mentorship Award is awarded to a teacher currently teaching (or retired) in Illinois who has taught speech, theater, and/or English for a significant length of time (10 years or more).  The qualifications for this award include distinguished service to the association and outstanding achievement in the profession, especially in mentorship of teachers and/or speech/theater coaches and directors.

To nominate a colleague, send an email to illinoiscta@gmail.com.

ICTA seeks nominations for Student Awards

L.E. Norton Outstanding Higher Education Student Award: Named in honor of Bradley University Speech Professor, L.E. Norton, this award recognizes a higher education student pursuing a two-year, four-year or graduate degree in speech or theater who has demonstrated “outstanding leadership and significant service within his/her department in particular, and to the college or university and community in general.”   

Richard A. Hunsaker Secondary School Speech Student Award: Named in honor of retired Belleville West High School speech and theater teacher, Richard Hunsaker, this award recognizes a high school student “who has been active in speech and/or theatre activities and who has made significant contributions to the community and school.”  

To nominate a student, send an email to illinoiscta@gmail.com.

Illinois Communication and Theatre Association

C/O Edward Schwarz

Prairie State College

202 S. Halsted St.

Chicago Heights, IL 60411


Joining us gives permission to share any photos or video taken at conference or shared by other members. We need to advocate for ourselves and our students' futures in Illinois in the areas of communication and theatre. If you wish to not have a photo published on the web, please contact illinoiscta@gmail.com