Sandford served as President in 1930 and 1931. He was a Professor of English and Rhetoric at University of Illinois at Champaign/Urbana.  Sandford published numerous scholarly articles in a variety of journals, including the Quarterly Journal of Speech, throughout the 1930s and 1940s.  The Sandford award is in recognition of exceptional service to the Association over an extended period of years and significant contributions to the field of speech and theatre.

Past W. P. Sandford Award Winners

Pre-1971: Mary Blackburn, Martin Holcomb, F.L.D. Holmes, Clara K. Mawhinney, Clarence Nystrom, Ian Rehn, Roberta Poos.

1971 G. Bradford Barber, Jessie Frederick, & Ruth Yates                                             

1972 E. Dorothy Peterson

1973 Kenneth Burns, Earl Davis, Wanda B. Mitchell, & C. Horton Talley

1974 Paul Crawford & Charlotte Lee

1975 Ralph Micken, Halbert Gulley, & L.E. Norton

1976 Birdine Groshong, R.P. Hibbs, Marion Kleinau, & Margaret Wood

1977 Carl Dallinger

1978 Jeanette Lloyd

1979 Margaret Crowley

1980 Marie J. Robinson

1981 Margaret Cadle

1982 Ralph Lane

1983 Lawrence E. Connolly

1984 Richard A. King

1985 Phillip Decker

1986 Mina Halliday

1987 Maxine Joyce

1988 Adrian Frana & George Tuttle

1989 Marvin Kleinau

1990 Clyde Faries

1991 John Duffin

1992 Kenneth E. Anderson

1993 Richard Hunsaker

1994 Jerry Mathis

1995 Phillip Gray

1996 Elizabeth Faries

1997 E. Neal Claussen

1998 Douglas R. Springer

1999 John B. Davis

2000 Morris Snively

2001 Connie Link

2002 Jan Heiteen

2003 Deb Woodard

2004 Robert Neuleib

2005 Douglas K. Jennings

2006 Craig W. Cutbirth

2007 Ken Hawkinson

2008 Henry Hertz

2009 Betty Jane Lawrence

2010 Carol Harms

2011 Allan Kimball

2012 Tom Pace

2013 Elighie Wilson & Tina Winings

2014 Eric Ewan

2015 Judy Santacanterina

2016 Lauren Morgen

2017 Ed Jodlowski

2018  Ed Schwarz

2019 No Award Given

2020 No Award Given

2021 No Award Given

Illinois Communication and Theatre Association

C/O Edward Schwarz

Prairie State College

202 S. Halsted St.

Chicago Heights, IL 60411


Joining us gives permission to share any photos or video taken at conference or shared by other members. We need to advocate for ourselves and our students' futures in Illinois in the areas of communication and theatre. If you wish to not have a photo published on the web, please contact illinoiscta@gmail.com